Take Action: “Skinny Repeal” Bill

Posted Thursday, Jul 27, 2017

Either late tonight or early tomorrow morning, the Senate will vote on a “skinny repeal” bill, legislation that would repeal parts of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and set up a conference with the House on ACA repeal legislation. While the contents of this “skinny repeal” have not been released, this bill would potentially fail the Jimmy Kimmel test—“No family should be denied medical care, emergency or otherwise, because they can't afford it”—since it has the potential to raise premiums and reduce coverage for people with pre-existing conditions like CHDs. No matter your political beliefs, this is not the solution.

Over the past few months, ACHA has asked that you call your Senators to share your thoughts on health care reform. Even if you have already called and emailed, please do so again today. We need to continue to raise our voices!

Please call your Senators to ask them to vote NO on the “skinny repeal” bill.

If the bill passes, health insurance and access to care for the entire CHD community – and millions of people with chronic, pre-existing conditions – is at risk in a House-Senate conference on ACA repeal and replacement legislation. We will update ACHA’s members on the outcome of the vote and any next steps.

To find out who your Senators are:

Visit www.Senate.gov and select your state from the drop-down menu bar next to the American flag at the top of the page. This will take you to a page with phone and email contact information for your two Senators. You may also call the Congressional Switchboard at (202) 224-3121 and ask them to connect you to one of your Senator’s office.

The following Senators have voted “no” at various points in this process. If one of these Senators represents you, they need to hear from you today to vote no at this critical juncture of the Senate ACA repeal debate:

  • Senator Lamar Alexander – Tennessee
  • Senator Shelley Moore Capito – West Virginia
  • Senator Susan Collins – Maine
  • Senator Tom Cotton – Arkansas
  • Senator Bob Corker – Tennessee
  • Senator Lindsey Graham – South Carolina
  • Senator Dean Heller – Nevada
  • Senator Mike Lee – Utah
  • Senator John McCain – Arizona
  • Senator Jerry Moran – Kansas
  • Senator Lisa Murkowski – Alaska
  • Senator Rand Paul – Kentucky
  • Senator Rob Portman  Ohio